Instamom
by Chantel Guertin

Thank you to Penguin Random House Canada, Dutton Books and @cdnbooknetwork (on Instagram) for gifting me a copy of Instamom by Chantel Guertin in exchange for an honest review!

Before I get into my review, I think that it’s important to preface it by saying that I do not normally read romance novels or rom-coms, and that this is very much a first for me.  As such, I am unfamiliar with the typical plot lines that romance novels follow as well as with the story tropes that they tend to include.  Please keep that in mind as you read through my review.

Instamom is probably the cutest book I’ve ever read and I absolutely loved every single page.  It’s lighthearted, refreshing, and full of love and romance, but it also has sarcastic moments full of witty banter and great puns that I could not get enough of!  To put it simply, this is the book that I didn’t know I needed until I had it in my hands.  It’s the PERFECT summer read.

Instamom follows Kit Kidding, also known as KitWithoutKids, an instagram influencer who has built her entire social media platform, brand, and following around the idea of being a confident and glamorous child-free woman.  She spends her days advocating for others who want the same things she does and who, ultimately, do not want to feel guilty about going against the expected norms that society has placed on them—essentially, the assumption that all women should be mothers and want to have children.

However, things begin to get messy for Kit when she meets Will, a funny and sexy chef (AND dad), during one of her influencer gigs and is later forced to work with him.  As her relationship with Will develops, so does her relationship with his eight-year-old daughter and Kit is forced to re-examine everything she thought she knew she wanted for her life.

Does Kit pursue her relationship with this sexy, single dad or does she let it all go to continue to advocate for the brand she’s worked so hard to create? You’ll have to read to find out!

I absolutely love everything about this story. The plot and characters are SO believable and SO relatable.  The “villains” are unlikeable in just the right ways.  The drama and occurring obstacles happen at just the right times.  AND I just love Kit and Will—they’re feisty, and both push and challenge each other in all the right ways.  It was also super neat to read about the Instagram influencer side of things (there were so many moments where I thought: ‘hey, I do that!’) and I love that Kit has a secret #bookstagram account.


ABOUT INSTAMOM:

Fans of Lauren Weisberger and Emily Henry won’t want to miss this funny, sexy, and emotional novel that looks at modern relationships, modern choices, and redefining—not to mention rebranding—your dreams, through the eyes of an Instagram influencer.

In this #funny, #wise, #emotionally compelling look at modern love and finding your true path, a proudly kid-free influencer meets the ultimate #dealbreaker . . .

It’s the influencer’s golden rule: know your niche. Kit Kidding has found hers on Instagram, where she gets paid to promote brands and share expertly curated posts about her fun, fabulous, child-free life. Kit likes kids just fine, but she passionately believes that women who choose not to become mothers shouldn’t have to face guilt. Or judgement. Or really hot chefs who turn out to be single dads.

Will MacGregor is aggravating, sexy, persistent, averse to social media, and definitely a bad idea. As soon as Kit learns his parenting status, she vows to put their scorching one-night stand behind her and move on. But Will and Kit are thrown together on an Instagram campaign, and the more time she spends with him—and his whip-smart, eight-year-old daughter, Addie—the more difficult it is to stay away, much less sustain what Will so cleverly calls her “Resting Beach Face.” Kit’s picture-perfect career path is suddenly clashing with the possibility of a different future—messy, complicated, and real. Which life does she truly want? Will she have to re-invent herself? And will love still be waiting by the time she figures it out?

Summary

Overall, it’s safe to say that I LOVE this book and highly recommend it!

— Rebekah Dolmat
0 comments
3 likes

Leave a Reply